Amount Raised

of $750,000 goal

Youth Leadership Awards Hour of Power

The Youth Leadership Awards is UCAN’s flagship fundraiser held annually in June. This important event is dedicated to celebrating the academic and personal achievements of UCAN’s outstanding youth. Each year, exceptional young people are recognized and receive scholarships for higher education. This year, UCAN is thrilled to present our seventh annual John D. Nichols Impact Award to David J. Vitale in recognition of his positive impact on youth and families in Chicago.

Youth Leadership Awards

Due to COVID-19, we have transformed our in-person gala into a virtual event to ensure the safety and health of our supporters. UCAN’s first ever virtual Youth Leadership Awards Hour of Power affords us the opportunity to continue forward in our effort to recognize and celebrate the achievements of our young people.

This year we are proud to award scholarships to seven exceptional young leaders from UCAN’s programming. We will also recognize a distinguished business and civic leader with the John D. Nichols Impact award. This year's recipient is David J. Vitale, whose civic efforts have made a significant difference in Greater Chicagoland area.

Founded 150 years ago, UCAN has grown into a multifaceted social service organization serving over 21,000 youth and families each year. UCAN's vision, youth who have suffered trauma can become our future leaders, is realized through our focus on compassionate healing, education and empowerment which offers youth a sense of opportunity and hope for the future. We believe that inspiring young people will help to break cycles of violence, abuse and neglect and help them become advocates for change in their communities.

During these uncertain times, UCAN continues to provide essential services to communities in need. Our therapists are hosting virtual sessions, our residential programs are still providing shelter, and our Violence Interrupters are still in the streets reducing gun violence.

Youth Leadership Award Winners

Alissa Loving

Senior, DRW College Prep

John E. Rooney Dynamic Scholar

Sadie Johnson

Senior, Thornwood High School

Youth Leadership Awards

Arianna Collins

Senior, George Westinghouse College Prep

Youth Leadership Awards

Jason Ivery

Sophomore, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Youth Leadership Awards

Alexis McNulty

Senior, Paul Laurence Dunbar Career Academy High School

Youth Leadership Awards

Da’Zhane Brown

Senior, Chicago International Charter School, Longwood Campus

College Undergraduate Success Program

Kareem Washington

Freshman, Augustana College

College Undergraduate Success Program


Our Sponsors

Host Sponsor

The Allstate Corporation
BMO Harris Bank
J. S. Frank Foundation
John D. and Alexandra C. Nichols

Reception Sponsor

Zachary and Lisa Schrantz
David and Marilyn Vitale

Platinum Sponsor

Steven T. Campbell
Rita and John Canning
Charlotte and Lawrence Damron
Kent and Liz Dauten
The Fleming Family
Bon and Holly French
The Grainger Foundation
Steve and Linda Patton
John W. and Jeanne M. Rowe
U.S. Bank
U.S. Cellular

Gold Sponsor

Advocate Aurora Health
Alliance Pension Consultants
Alper Services LLC
Axion RMS
Colleen and Ryan Bradley
Markell Bridges
Peggy and Kevin Callahan
Diermeier Family Foundation
Bradley Fluegel, and Scott and Karen Powder
Warren and Beverly Hayford
Terry Jimenez
Mr. Peter M. Kelly and Ms. Susan Barrett-Kelly
Karen Z. Gray-Krehbiel and John H. Krehbiel, Jr.
Lavin Family Foundation
Robert and Gail Loveman
Northern Trust Company
Robert R. McCormick Foundation
Margot and Thomas J. Pritzker Family Foundation
Rothschild Investment Corporation
Thomas and Kathryn VandenBerk

Follow Us on Social Media